[Reading Challenge 2017] – The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis

A book of letters

So the first book for the 2017 Reading Challenge (via PopSugar) was “a book of letters.”

So I chose C.S. Lewis’s “The Screwtape Letters” – mainly because I have been staring at this book that has been in our personal collection for the past twenty years, but have always procrastinated from reading it (mainly because I didn’t want to deal with the overt Christian morality that I knew Lewis was fond of thanks to the Chronicles of Narnia series).

After reading this book, I was quite pleasantly surprised that it was not such a bad read. Maybe I have mellowed out about morality (though I do think these days I am a far angrier person than I used to be, but maybe my mellowness is something different?).

But anyways, this was actually a decent read, cleverly written in a back-handed way to inject what would make the “perfect” Christian. Sadly, most of these thoughts are still relevant today (not about being a perfect Christian, but really how reactionary people are, sometimes it feels that we don’t evolve socially as a species, only physically).

With that said, it’s just a nice read to see the exchange between Screwtape and Wormwood as they go back and forth about the “successes” and the teaching points that we should learn from it. Even if you feel like balking at the idea of the overt religious teachings of the book, as an actual piece of literature it is something one can enjoy as a pleasant afternoon read, so go check it out!

Leave a Reply

